top of page
Theatre For One: This Ireland, Landmark/Octopus Theatricals/Cork Midsummer, 2024

Directed by Eoghan Carrick, Grace Morgan

Úna Kavanagh in Bait by Louise Lowe Aisling O’Sullivan in The Spur by Mark O’RowePeter Corboy in Cave by Enda WalshDemi Isaac Oviawe in Dear Rosa by Joy Nesbitt (mentored by Enda Walsh)Sarah Agha in Fruit for Thought by Susannah Al Fraihat (mentored by Emmet Kirwan)Joan Sheehy in Moonrise by Aoife Delany Reade (mentored by Mark O’Rowe)

Directed by Grace Morgan
Kathy Rose O’Brien in Brilliant by Stacey Gregg

Kate Gilmore in Queen of the Pyramids by Emmet Kirwan

Anna Healy in Cygnum Canticum by Marina Carr

Grace Collender in Blue Heat by Iseult Deane (mentored by Marina Carr)

Liath Hannon in  Freeze by Ois O’Donoghue (mentored by Louise Lowe)

Aoibhéann McCann in Humanitarian by Aoibhéann McCann (mentored by Stacey Gregg)

In June 2024, Theatre for One: This Ireland will be presented at Cork Midsummer Festival. The plays will be produced by Landmark Productions, in partnership with Octopus Theatricals (NY) and will be presented in a specially-designed, state-of-the-art theatre booth for one actor and one audience member at a time located on the plaza outside Cork Opera House.

Theatre for One is part peep-show booth, part confessional, and completely visceral. And it’s free.

Theatre for One was conceived and created by the Olivier award-winning designer Christine Jones and designed by LOT-EK architects. When it premiered at Cork Midsummer Festival in 2019, six of Ireland’s leading playwrights – Marina Carr, Stacey Gregg, Emmet Kirwan, Louise Lowe, Mark O’Rowe and Enda Walsh – presented original 5-minute plays to 5-star reviews across the board. In June 2024, six emerging playwrights, chosen through a public call-out (the successful applicants will be  announced in Jan 2024), will join them to showcase a combined total of 12 plays – six from the original writers and six from the call-out.

The six plays presented in 2019 were: Cygnum Canticum by Marina Carr; Brilliant by Stacey Gregg; Queen of the Pyramids by Emmet Kirwan; Bait by Louise Lowe; The Spur by Mark O’Rowe and Cave by Enda Walsh.

bottom of page